Yates Endowed Chair in Mathematics Jennifer Mueller

A woman with light pink hair in glasses and a blazer smiles for a portrait.

After an international search, Jennifer Mueller, professor in the Department of Mathematics at Colorado State University, has been named the third Albert C. Yates Endowed Chair in Mathematics. 

This prestigious position was created by Bohemian Foundation in 2003 in honor of former CSU president Albert C. Yates and is awarded to mathematicians who show excellent teaching skills, a commitment to applied research, a record of community service, and a practical approach to mathematics. 

“Jennifer is more than deserving of this award,” said Simon Tavener, interim dean of the College of Natural Sciences. “Her research runs the gamut from formulating and proving mathematical theorems to data collection and analysis in a clinical environment. She is a successful and dedicated teacher and mentor to students at every level.” 

Mueller’s research focuses on the use of electrical impedance tomography to provide side effect-free scanning to patients with certain lung conditions, including cystic fibrosis. EIT represents a major advancement in health care for these patients who previously used CT scans that could be performed only infrequently due to the risk of exposure to radiation. EIT scans can be used as often as desired and allow patients and doctors to monitor the progression of disease and update treatment methods more frequently. In addition to her research, Mueller is a popular professor in the department, teaching students at all levels through research in her lab and courses including Mathematics in Biology and Medicine and Foundation of Applied Mathematics.

“I am so pleased to see Professor Jennifer Mueller receive this distinguished honor. She is an outstanding scholar in the College of Natural Sciences and a giant among giants in her discipline, contributing through her research and teaching to the greater good of humanity,” said Janice Nerger, interim provost and vice president for Academic Affairs.

“The creation of the Albert C. Yates Chair in Mathematics and other endowed chairs and professorships made possible by generous donors are the highest academic awards we can bestow upon a faculty member,” she added. “They help us recruit and retain the best researchers and teachers in the nation, like Jennifer, who elevate our reputation and enrich our academic enterprise for the benefit of current and future colleagues and students.”      

Mueller follows two renowned former Yates Chairs: Dan Rudolph and Margaret Cheney.

This recognition and award will allow Mueller to take her research into new areas of interest. “With this award, Jennifer plans to expand her imaging toolbox to incorporate techniques using ultrasound, opening up a wealth of new capabilities and clinical applications,” Tavener said.

Keep Reading